This site uses cookies, your continued use implies you agree with our cookie policy.

Overcoming Grief & Trauma

Overcoming Grief & Trauma

After experiencing a traumatic event there are 10 stages that we need to pass through to rebuild our strength and regain control of our lives again.

Traumatic events can include:

  • A violent outburst from partner
  • A physical attack from stranger or loved one
  • Loss of a relationship
  • Loss of a close friend
  • Death of a partner
  • Death of a colleague
  • Serious illness of a loved one
  • Death of a family member

Other less traumatic events can also cause strong feelings of grief and therefore the process will be the same.

  • Loss of your home
  • Loss of financial security
  • Illness/loss of health
  • Death of a pet
  • Change of job
  • Loss of a physical ability


Based on the Stages of Grief model, Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, 1969

< Back to Health & Wellbeing